Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Expendables 3

At Home
  • Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning

  • The Expendables 2

  • Stash House

  • I Come in Peace

  • The Expendables

  • Direct Contact

  • Diamond Dogs

  • The Final Inquiry

  • Missionary Man

  • The Russian Specialist

1 of 10

Dolph Lundgren Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Nov 3, 1959
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Highly intelligent and extremely well educated -- earning an M.A. at Stockholm's Royal Institute of Technology and a Fulbright Fellowship at M.I.T. -- Dolph Lundgren is better known for his athletic achievements than his intellectual pursuits. An internationally recognized kick-boxing champion, the 6' 6", 250-pound Lundgren was working as a doorman at a trendy New York disco when his personally produced exercise video Maximum Potential caught the eye of movie producers. His 1984 cinematic debut was a bit part in the [[Feature~V158529~James Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] opus A View to a Kill, which co-starred Lundgren's then-lover [[Performer~P36108~Grace Jones~gracejones]]. (Earlier reports that Lundgren appeared in 1970's [[Feature~V36811~The Out-of-Towners~theoutoftowners]] were really out of town.) His breakthrough film role was as Drago, the automaton-like Russian ring opponent of [[Performer~P112464~Sylvester Stallone~sylvesterstallone]] in [[Feature~V41861~Rocky IV~rockyiv]] (1985). The content of Lundgren's subsequent films is implicit in their titles: [[Feature~V31786~Masters of the Universe~mastersoftheuniverse]] (in which Lundgren played bulging-biceped cartoon character He-Man), [[Feature~V51890~Universal Soldier~universalsoldier]] (sharing the screen with fellow bodybuilder [[Performer~P72739~Jean-Claude Van Damme~jeanclaudevandamme]]), [[Feature~V40724~Red Scorpion~redscorpion]], [[Feature~V44542~Showdown in Little Tokyo~showdowninlittletokyo]], [[Feature~V135362~Army of One~armyofone]], etc. When Lundgren showed up as a street preacher in the futuristic [[Feature~V134727~Johnny Mnemonic~johnnymnemonic]] (1995), one got the feeling that he was not going to be advocating peace on earth for long. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement