Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • And So It Goes

  • Finding Dory

1 of 2
At Home
  • And So It Goes

  • The Big Wedding

  • I Will, I Will for Now

  • Darling Companion

  • Morning Glory

  • Smother

  • The Little Drummer Girl

  • Mama's Boy

  • Mad Money

  • Shoot the Moon

1 of 10

Diane Keaton Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Director, Executive Producer
  • Born: Jan 5, 1946
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Diane Hall

After rising to fame in a series of hit [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]] comedies, Diane Keaton went on to enjoy a successful film career both as an actress and as a director. Born Diane Hall on January 5, 1946, in Los Angeles, she studied acting at Manhattan's Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater and in 1968 understudied in Hair. On Broadway she met actor/director [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]] and appeared in his 1969 stage hit [[Feature~V38348~Play It Again, Sam~playitagainsam]]. In 1970, Keaton made her film debut in the comedy [[Feature~V30381~Lovers and Other Strangers~loversandotherstrangers]] and rose to fame as the paramour of [[Performer~P54596~Al Pacino~alpacino]]'s Michael Corleone in the 1972 blockbuster [[Feature~V20076~The Godfather~thegodfather]]. That same year, she and [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]] -- with whom Keaton had become romantically involved offscreen -- reprised [[Feature~V38348~Play It Again, Sam~playitagainsam]] for the cameras, and in 1973 he directed her in [[Feature~V45148~Sleeper~sleeper]]. [[Feature~V20078~The Godfather Part II~thegodfatherpartii]] followed, as did [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]]'s [[Feature~V30262~Love and Death~loveanddeath]]. All of these films enjoyed great success, and Keaton stood on the verge of becoming a major star; however, when her next two pictures -- 1976's [[Feature~V24163~I Will, I Will for Now~iwilliwillfornow]] and [[Feature~V21623~Harry and Walter Go to New York~harryandwaltergotonewyork]] -- both flopped, she returned to the stage to star in The Primary English Class.

In 1977, [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]] released his fourth film with Keaton, [[Feature~V2547~Annie Hall~anniehall]]. A clearly autobiographical portrait of the couple's real-life romance, it was a landmark, bittersweet, soul-searching tale which brought a new level of sophistication to comedy in films. Not only did the film itself win an Academy Award for Best Picture, but Keaton garnered Best Actress honors. That same year, she also headlined the controversial drama [[Feature~V30006~Looking for Mr. Goodbar~lookingformrgoodbar]]. Two more films with [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]], 1978's [[Performer~P81548~Bergmanesque~ingmarbergman]] [[Feature~V25065~Interiors~interiors]] and the 1979 masterpiece [[Feature~V31285~Manhattan~manhattan]] followed; however, when the couple separated, Keaton began a romance with [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]], with whom she co-starred in the 1981 epic [[Feature~V40771~Reds~reds]]; she earned a Best Actress nomination for her work in [[Performer~P81105~Beatty~warrenbeatty]]'s film. Continuing to pursue more dramatic projects, she next co-starred in 1982's [[Feature~V44441~Shoot the Moon~shootthemoon]], followed by a pair of box-office disappointments, [[Feature~V29514~The Little Drummer Girl~thelittledrummergirl]] and [[Feature~V33723~Mrs. Soffel~mrssoffel]]. The 1986 [[Feature~V11533~Crimes of the Heart~crimesoftheheart]] was a minor success, and a year later she made her directorial debut with the documentary [[Feature~V21975~Heaven~heaven]].

Keaton's next starring role in the domestic comedy [[Feature~V3565~Baby Boom~babyboom]] (1987) was a smash, and after close to a decade apart, she and [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]] reunited for [[Feature~V40059~Radio Days~radiodays]], in which she briefly appeared as a singer. Upon starring in 1988's disappointing [[Feature~V20310~The Good Mother~thegoodmother]], she began splitting her time between acting and directing. In between appearing in films including 1990's [[Feature~V20078~The Godfather Part III~thegodfatherpartii]], 1991's hit [[Feature~V16920~Father of the Bride~fatherofthebride]], and 1992's telefilm [[Feature~V42364~Running Mates~runningmates]], she helmed music videos, afterschool specials (1990's [[Feature~V149225~The Girl with the Crazy Brother~crazywiththeheat]]), and TV features (1991's [[Feature~V54626~Wildflower~wildflower]]). She even directed an episode of the [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]] cult favorite [[Feature~V51340~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks]]. After stepping in for [[Performer~P22809~Mia Farrow~miafarrow]] in [[Performer~P177662~Allen~allen]]'s 1993 picture [[Feature~V31291~Manhattan Murder Mystery~manhattanmurdermystery]], Keaton essayed the title role in the 1994 TV biopic [[Feature~V149352~Amelia Earhart: the Final Flight~ameliaearhart:thefinalflight]] and in 1995 made her feature-length directorial debut with the quirky drama [[Feature~V134736~Unstrung Heroes~unstrungheroes]]. After co-starring with [[Performer~P102748~Bette Midler~bettemidler]] and [[Performer~P31138~Goldie Hawn~goldiehawn]] in the 1996 comedy smash [[Feature~V154488~The First Wives Club~thefirstwivesclub]], she earned another Oscar nomination for her work in [[Feature~V136646~Marvin's Room~marvinsroom]]. In 1998, Keaton starred in [[Feature~V155028~The Only Thrill~theonlythrill]] and followed that in 1999 with [[Feature~V176535~The Other Sister~theothersister]]. She subsequently stepped into another familial role in 2000's [[Feature~V181279~Hanging Up~hangingup]] with [[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]] and [[Performer~P39535~Lisa Kudrow~lisakudrow]].

Despite participating amongst a star-studded cast including veterans [[Performer~P31138~Goldie Hawn~goldiehawn]], [[Performer~P64771~Garry Shandling~garryshandling]], [[Performer~P94233~Charlton Heston~charltonheston]], and [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]], 2001's [[Feature~V241444~Town & Country~towncountry]] was not particularly well-received among audiences or critics. In 2003, Keaton played [[Performer~P104455~Jack Nicholson~jacknicholson]]'s love interest in director [[Performer~P102687~Nancy Meyers~nancymeyers]]'s [[Feature~V291162~Something's Gotta Give~somethingsgottagive]] (for which she received a Best Actress Oscar nomination) and executive produced director [[Performer~P115102~Gus Van Sant~gusvansant]]'s avant-garde [[Feature~V285911~Elephant~elephant]]), which won Best Director and Golden Palm awards at the 2003 Cannes Film Festival. Keaton would spend the ensuing years appearing frequently on screen in films like Because I Said So, Mad Money, and Darling Companion. ~ Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Advertisement