Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Annie

At Home
  • 13

  • Skyline

  • The Expendables

  • The Savages

  • Michael Clayton

  • 16 Blocks

  • The Interpreter

  • Brooklyn Bound

  • Anne B. Real

  • Washington Heights

1 of 10

David Zayas Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A former New York City police officer who was inspired to take up acting after seeing a performance of A Few Good Men on Broadway, David Zayas subsequently enrolled in Ernie Martin's acting classes and began honing his craft while he wasn't fighting crime. Later, Zayas would sign on with the Labyrinth Theater Company alongside [[Performer~P32716~Philip Seymour Hoffman~philipseymourhoffman]] and [[Performer~P223487~John Ortiz~johnortiz]] and appear in a variety of groundbreaking productions including In Arabia We'd All Be Kings and Jesus Hopped the "A" Train. Thirty plays later, Zayas was discovered by [[Performer~P286881~Tom Fontana~tomfontana]] and cast in the hit HBO series [[Feature~V251965~Oz~oz[tvseries]]]. Zayas would stick with the series for three seasons, his role as the leader of the Latino prison population gradually drawing the eye of such acclaimed filmmakers as [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]] and [[Performer~P28366~James Gray~jamesgray]]. While roles in [[Feature~V180989~Bringing Out the Dead~bringingoutthedead]], [[Feature~V186744~The Yards~theyards]], [[Feature~V390916~Bristol Boys~bristolboys]], and [[Feature~V326283~16 Blocks~16blocks]] all served well to advance Zayas' career on the big screen (where he could usually be found playing a detective or police officer), he remained faithful to the stage by appearing in a Broadway production of Anna in the Tropics at the Royal Theater and could later be seen opposite [[Performer~P302587~Michael C. Hall~michaelchall]] in the Golden Globe-nominated Showtime series [[Feature~V361081~Dexter~dexter[tvseries]]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement