Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Equilibrium

  • Gladiator

  • Barbarella

1 of 3
At Home
  • The Walking Stick

  • Eye of the Devil

  • Fragment of Fear

  • The Love Machine

  • Saint Joan

  • Power Play

  • Man, Woman and Child

  • Treasure of the Yankee Zephyr

  • All the Way

  • Islands in the Stream

1 of 10

David Hemmings Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Director
  • Born: Nov 18, 1941
  • Died: Dec 3, 2003

When the film version of the Broadway musical [[Feature~V7934~Camelot~camelot]] was released in 1967, critics had a jolly old time lambasting director [[Performer~P100044~Joshua Logan~joshualogan]] for casting non-singers in the leading roles. While it's certainly true that [[Performer~P59204~Lynn Redgrave~lynnredgrave]], [[Performer~P93538~Richard Harris~richardharris]] and [[Performer~P52262~Franco Nero~franconero]] seemed to suffer from Tin-Ear Syndrome, the critics were most unfair in picking on the fellow who played Mordred: David Hemmings. The son of a cookie merchant, Hemmings was a successful touring boy soprano at age nine, performing with the English Opera Group. He briefly left the musical world when his voice changed, studying painting at the Epsom School of Art and staging his first exhibition at 15. He returned to singing in his early 20s, first in nightclubs, then on the musical stage. Easing into acting, Hemmings appeared as misunderstood youths and belligerent "Teddy Boys" in a number of British programmers before attaining international stardom as the existential fashion photographer "hero"of [[Performer~P1927~Antonioni~jimantonio]]'s [[Feature~V140578~Blow-Up~sautemaville]] (1966). With 1971's [[Feature~V108543~Running Scared~runningscared]], the indefatigable Hemmings began yet another new career as director; he has since helmed theatrical and made-for-TV films in England, Australia and Canada. With business partner [[Performer~P86624~John Daly~johndaly]], Hemmings formed the Hemdale Corporation for the express purpose of allowing the actor to do pretty much what he pleased both before and behind the cameras. In later years, he added novel writing to his considerable list of accomplishments. David Hemmings was the former husband of American actress [[Performer~P33951~Gayle Hunnicutt~gaylehunnicutt]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement