Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Danièle Thompson doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Le Cerveau

  • Le code a changé

  • Avenue Montaigne

  • La Folie des Grandeurs

  • Thunderbirds

  • The Mad Adventures of "Rabbi" Jacob

  • Jet Lag

  • Queen Margot

  • La Bûche

  • Belphegor: Phantom of the Louvre

1 of 10

Danièle Thompson Biography

  • Profession: Screenwriter, Director
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

French screenwriter Danièle Thompson was born in Monaco to the prolific filmmaker [[Performer~P105281~Gérard Oury~gérardoury]]. She received her first screenwriting credits in 1966 on his film [[Feature~V89767~La Grande Vadrouille~lagrandevadrouille]]. Along with fellow writer [[Performer~P96468~Marcel Jullian~marceljullian]], she would write scripts for nine more of her father's movies throughout the next few decades. Mostly original romantic comedies, she also wrote literary adaptations and worked with many other directors. In 1975, her script for [[Performer~P113496~Jean-Charles Tacchella~jeancharlestacchella]]'s [[Feature~V11248~Cousin, Cousine~cousincousine]] was nominated for an Academy Award. During the '80s, she tried her hand at television and came up with the comedic series Petit Déjeuner Compris. Moving away from comedy, she started working with director [[Performer~P106550~Claude Pinoteau~claudepinoteau]] for his next few dramas ([[Feature~V27872~La Boum~laboum]], [[Feature~V132764~La Boum 2~laboum2]], [[Feature~V119713~L'Étudiante~letudiante]], and [[Feature~V35386~La Neige et le Feu~laneigeetlefeu]]). In the '90s, she wrote some made-for-TV movies and began working with director [[Performer~P84820~Patrice Chéreau~patricechéreau]], which led to two César nominations for [[Feature~V134238~La Reine Margot~queenmargot]] and [[Feature~V160418~Those Who Love Me Can Take the Train~thosewholovemecantakethetrain]]. In 1999, she made her directorial debut with the domestic comedy [[Feature~V184616~La Bûche~labûche]], which she wrote with her son [[Performer~P70677~Christopher Thompson~christopherthompson]]. Featuring an ensemble cast and a witty script, the film earned several César nominations. She teamed up with her son again for [[Feature~V275248~Décalage Horaire~jetlag]], a romantic comedy starring [[Performer~P6261~Juliette Binoche~juliettebinoche]] and [[Performer~P206599~Jean Reno~jeanreno]]. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement