Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Kung Fu Panda

  • Horton Hears a Who

1 of 2
At Home
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

  • Don Peyote

  • Free Birds

  • Europa Report

  • Scenic Route

  • Mars Needs Moms

  • Take Me Home Tonight

  • Love Happens

  • Taking Woodstock

  • The Wedding Bros.

1 of 10

Dan Fogler Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 20, 1977
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

With his heavyset, bug-eyed, and occasionally wild appearance, character actor Dan Fogler suggested a cross between [[Performer~P38401~Sam Kinison~samkinison]] and [[Performer~P195232~Jack Black~jackblack]], but his inventive genius ranked him far higher, inviting frequent comparisons to the likes of [[Performer~P5234~John Belushi~johnbelushi]]. Though Fogler would eventually gain recognition as a film star, he rocketed to fame not for his cinematic work but for a most unusual theatrical coup: his evocation of William Barfee, the slightly obnoxious, mucous-ridden, duck-walking braggart at the heart of the Broadway production The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. That show actually evolved from a series of improvisatory exercises cultivated during Fogler's tenure at Boston University (when it was entitled C-R-E-P-U-S-C-L-E) to an off-Broadway show to a white-hot Broadway production that deservedly netted Fogler the 2005 Tony Award for Best Actor.
Of course, Hollywood stardom was not far off, and beginning in 2006 (with a small appearance in the [[Performer~P70825~Billy Bob Thornton~billybobthornton]] comedy [[Feature~V333380~School for Scoundrels~schoolforscoundrels]]), Fogler did appear onscreen, to consistently enthusiastic notices. He also ascended with incredible rapidity from supporting parts to leads, and invariably chose interesting features, such as the silly sports comedy [[Feature~V337884~Balls of Fury~ballsoffury]] (2007), with Fogler as a ping-pong player who must square off against maniacal arch-fiend [[Performer~P74206~Christopher Walken~christopherwalken]], and that same year's comedy [[Feature~V337885~The Marconi Brothers~theweddingbros]], in which Fogler and [[Performer~P395919~Brendan Sexton III~brendansextoniii]] play brothers who leave the family carpet business to videotape weddings for a living. He also played [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] in the [[Performer~P216888~Agatha Christie~agathachristie]]/[[Performer~P187974~Dashiell Hammett~dashiellhammett]]-style murder mystery [[Feature~V355329~Number Thirteen~numberthirteen]], and signed on to voice one of the main characters in the 2008 animated feature [[Feature~V361176~Horton Hears a Who~hortonhearsawho]], adapted from the legendary [[Performer~P309051~Dr. Seuss~drseuss]] children's book, as well voicing a character in the DreamWorks animated comedy [[Feature~V354676~Kung Fu Panda~kungfupanda]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement