Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

D.J. Caruso doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • I Am Number Four

  • Eagle Eye

  • Disturbia

  • Two for the Money

  • Taking Lives

  • Crazy as Hell

  • The Salton Sea

  • Another Stakeout

  • Nick of Time

  • Drop Zone

1 of 10

D.J. Caruso Biography

  • Profession: Director, Producer, Associate Producer
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A producer and director whose early work in television eventually segued into features, D.J. Caruso showed a distinctive blend of noir conventions and dark, almost surreal gallows humor in such moody thrillers as [[Feature~V256715~The Salton Sea~thesaltonsea]] and [[Feature~V288012~Taking Lives~takinglives]]. A lifelong film lover who aspired to a career in the entertainment industry from an early age, the Pepperdine University graduate began his career as a production assistant and earned his first credit (associate producer) with the 1991 [[Performer~P117297~James Woods~jameswoods]]/[[Performer~P24577~Michael J. Fox~michaeljfox]] action comedy [[Feature~V21547~The Hard Way~thehardway]]. Caruso later served in varying production capacities on such features as [[Feature~V38543~Point of No Return~pointofnoreturn]] (1993), [[Feature~V133798~Drop Zone~dropzone]] (1994), and [[Feature~V135642~Nick of Time~nickoftime]] (1995). In 1995, he stepped into the director's chair for an episode of the short-lived sci-fi series VR.5. Gradually gaining confidence behind the camera by helming episodes of such series as [[Feature~V173459~Buddy Faro~buddyfaro]] and [[Feature~V173492~Martial Law~martiallaw[tvseries]]], Caruso directed the short comedy Cyclops, Baby before making the 1998 made-for-TV mystery [[Feature~V162798~Black Cat Run~blackcatrun]]. Another television thriller, Mind Prey,was followed with episodes of [[Feature~V220882~Dark Angel~darkangel[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V255964~Smallville~smallville[tvseries]]] before Caruso moved into feature territory with the neo-noir crime drama [[Feature~V256715~The Salton Sea~thesaltonsea]] in 2002. Starring [[Performer~P38142~Val Kilmer~valkilmer]] as a former jazz musician who descends into a world of drugs and crime in order to find his wife's murderer, the film performed only moderately well at the box office despite receiving praise for its stylish direction and striking cinematography. Back on the small screen, Caruso directed episodes of [[Feature~V270119~The Shield~theshield[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V274446~Robbery Homicide Division~robberyhomicidedivision[tvseries]]]. In 2004, he returned to the multiplexes with [[Feature~V288012~Taking Lives~takinglives]], a haunting thriller starring [[Performer~P36009~Angelina Jolie~angelinajolie]] as an FBI agent on the trail of an elusive serial killer. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement