Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Lost Boys

At Home
  • Firstborn

  • Decisions

  • Shark City

  • Crank High Voltage

  • Dream a Little Dream 2

  • Busted

  • License to Drive

  • The Back Lot Murders

  • Dream a Little Dream

  • Fever Lake

1 of 10

Corey Haim Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Dec 23, 1972
  • Died: Mar 10, 2010

A teenage heartthrob in the 1980s, baby-faced Corey Haim appeared to be the kinder and gentler of the two Coreys; he was the good guy whereas [[Performer~P22999~Corey Feldman~coreyfeldman]] was the rebel. As a child, the "Haimster" appeared in TV shows and commercials in his native Canada until he made his film debut in the drama [[Feature~V17473~Firstborn~firstborn]] at the age of 11. Many TV movies followed, including his award-winning role as [[Performer~P49495~Liza Minelli~lizaminnelli]]'s son dying of muscular dystrophy in [[Feature~V50051~A Time to Live~atimetolive]]. After playing [[Performer~P89714~Sally Field~sallyfield]]'s son in [[Feature~V33871~Murphy's Romance~murphysromance]], he was old enough to star in the teen drama [[Feature~V30428~Lucas~lucas]] with [[Performer~P65046~Charlie Sheen~charliesheen]] and [[Performer~P62446~Winona Ryder~winonaryder]]. In 1987, Haim made his first co-starring appearance with [[Performer~P22999~Feldman~coreyfeldman]] in [[Performer~P110432~Joel Schumacher~joelschumacher]]'s teen vampire movie [[Feature~V30136~The Lost Boys~thelostboys]]. Whether they were friends or rivals, the Coreys co-starred in two more teen movies together: [[Feature~V29158~License to Drive~licensetodrive]] and [[Feature~V14753~Dream a Little Dream~dreamalittledream]]. They later reunited for [[Feature~V145998~Blown Away~blownaway]], [[Feature~V121845~National Lampoon's Last Resort~nationallampoonslastresort]], [[Feature~V149758~Dream a Little Dream 2~dreamalittledream2]], and [[Performer~P22999~Feldman~coreyfeldman]]'s directorial debut, [[Feature~V160005~Busted~busted]]. At the peak of their popularity with preteen audiences, rumors began circulating about their apparent drug and alcohol addictions. In order to combat this image, Haim released a video diary in 1990 called Me, Myself & I, which featured him in an array of family-friendly activities. For the rest of the '90s, he laid low in straight-to-video teen movies, including [[Feature~V14741~The Dream Machine~thedreammachine]], [[Feature~V36061~Oh, What a Night~ohwhatanight]], [[Feature~V121367~Just One of the Girls~justoneofthegirls]], and [[Feature~V16851~Fast Getaway~fastgetaway]]. In 1997, he declared bankruptcy and wouldn't make another movie until 2000, when he played an ex-con trying to kick drugs in the thriller [[Feature~V251963~Without Malice~withoutmalice]]. Haim's career would remain somewhat scattershot, but he would take an interesting, post-modern approach to his public image with the 2007 TV series The Two Coreys, in which he and Feldman played scripted versions of themselves in a series presented as a reality show. He would also continue to act in movies in the late 2000’s, appearing in films like New Terminal Hotel and Crank: High Voltage. Sadly, in 2010 Haim died of a drug overdose at the age of 38. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement