Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues

At Home
  • Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues

  • Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked

  • Hall Pass

  • Going the Distance

  • Cats & Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore

  • Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel

  • The Rocker

  • Farce of the Penguins

  • The Brutal Truth

  • Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

1 of 10

Christina Applegate Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Nov 25, 1971
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Originally famous as the bodacious, brain-challenged Bundy offspring Kelly on Fox's long-running dysfunctional family sitcom Married...With Children, Christina Applegate parlayed her comic talents and sexy image into a parallel movie career.

A natural blonde Hollywood baby, Applegate was raised by her actress mother, [[Performer~P261955~Nancy Priddy~nancypriddy]], after [[Performer~P261955~Priddy~nancypriddy]] split from Applegate's father, record executive Bobby Applegate. Making her acting debut as an infant with her mother on TV's Days of Our Lives, Applegate subsequently landed her first movie role at age ten when she appeared with [[Performer~P261955~Priddy~nancypriddy]] in the low-grade horror flick [[Feature~V25917~Jaws of Satan~jawsofsatan]] (1981). After playing Grace as a child in the TV biopic [[Feature~V125944~Grace Kelly~gracekelly]] (1983), Applegate guest starred on several TV shows before landing her own permanent series role in the short-lived Heart of the City (1986). Her next series, however, proved the charm. Debuting in 1987 on the fledgling Fox TV network, Married...With Children withstood criticisms about its all-around vulgarity to become one of Fox's first signature hits. During its ten-year run, Married...With Children also spawned the TV movie [[Feature~V25577~It's a Bundyful Life~marriedwithchildren:itsabundyfullifepart1]] (1992), featuring Applegate and the rest of the Bundy clan in a spoof of holiday chestnut [[Feature~V25590~It's a Wonderful Life~itsawonderfullife]] (1946). A bona fide teen heartthrob and star, Applegate attempted to show her serious side as a prostitute and drug addict in the gritty drama [[Feature~V47314~Streets~streets]] (1990). Teen comedy [[Feature~V14344~Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead~donttellmomthebabysittersdead]] (1991) tried to capitalize on Applegate's TV fame while showcasing her as a smart, resourceful, anti-Bundy character. Also during Married...With Children's run, Applegate appeared in the female road movie [[Feature~V134172~Across the Moon~acrossthemoon]] (1994), mutilated rock musician-drama [[Feature~V154384~Vibrations~vibrations]] (1995), and as the town whore in [[Performer~P94395~Walter Hill~walterhill]]'s underrated Western [[Feature~V152838~Wild Bill~wildbill]] (1995). Applegate's Married fame further landed her a small part in the all-star ensemble populating [[Performer~P83666~Tim Burton~timburton]]'s science fiction parody [[Feature~V136613~Mars Attacks!~marsattacks]] (1996), and wryly shaded her presence in [[Performer~P79831~Gregg Araki~greggaraki]]'s Los Angeles teen anomie opus [[Feature~V154613~Nowhere~nowhere]] (1997), the slickest entrant in his "teen apocalypse trilogy."

Ready to leave the TV-bred teen realm behind after Married went off the air in 1997, Applegate co-starred with [[Performer~P198251~Mark Wahlberg~markwahlberg]] in the Hong Kong-tinged action comedy [[Feature~V161630~The Big Hit~thebighit]] (1998) and played the WASP fiancée of a Mob scion in [[Performer~P78951~Jim Abrahams~jimabrahams]]' Mafia movie parody [[Feature~V163036~Mafia!~mafia]] (1998). She co-starred with her eventual husband, [[Performer~P197736~Johnathon Schaech~johnathonschaech]], and erstwhile teen idol [[Performer~P60327~Molly Ringwald~mollyringwald]] in the high-school reunion thriller [[Feature~V186644~The Giving Tree~thebrutaltruth]] (1999) as well. Inspired by her experience with her mother growing up, though, Applegate agreed to return to TV to star as a single mom balancing work and family in the sitcom Jesse (1998). Despite choice time slots, however, Jesse was canceled in 2000. Applegate returned to movie comedy co-starring with [[Performer~P206599~Jean Reno~jeanreno]] as a princess and modern gal in the ill-received remake of a French time-travel yarn [[Feature~V239762~Just Visiting~justvisiting]] (2001). Subsequently holding her own opposite some of her more lustrous film peers, Applegate earned far better reviews than the movie itself as [[Performer~P195733~Cameron Diaz~camerondiaz]]'s levelheaded best friend in the raunchy female bonding romp [[Feature~V259837~The Sweetest Thing~thesweetestthing]] (2002), and flew the friendly skies with [[Performer~P54871~Gwyneth Paltrow~gwynethpaltrow]] in the flight attendant comedy A View from the Top (2003).

In 2004, Applegate landed herself leading-lady roles in two of the year's most anticipated films. First, in July, she starred opposite Will Ferrell in the 70s-era comedy Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy. Then, the following November, she could be seen with Ben Affleck in the holiday film Surviving Christmas.

In 2007 Applegate finally found success on the small-screen yet again with the sitcom Samantha Who?, but the actress made headlines in 2008 when she revealed she was fighting breast cancer, an illness she survived. Meanwhile, on the big screen she scored major parts in the comedy The Rocker, and played Jason Sudeikis' long-suffering wife in the Farrelly Brothers comedy Hall Pass.

In 2011 she was cast opposite Will Arnett in the sitcom Up All Night which would become her third television program to run for at least two years. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

Advertisement