Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Begin Again

  • Captain Phillips

1 of 2
At Home
  • Captain Phillips

  • Enough Said

  • The Croods

  • The Oranges

  • Lost Angels

  • A Late Quartet

  • Peace, Love & Misunderstanding

  • Trust

  • Genova

  • Cyrus

1 of 10

Catherine Keener Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 26, 1960
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Catherine Keener ranks with [[Performer~P187028~Parker Posey~parkerposey]] as one of the queens of 1990s American independent cinema. A muse for director [[Performer~P87646~Tom Di Cillo~tomdicillo]] ([[Feature~V26460~Johnny Suede~johnnysuede]], [[Feature~V133594~Living in Oblivion~livinginoblivion]], [[Feature~V136159~Box of Moonlight~boxofmoonlight]], [[Feature~V158733~The Real Blonde~therealblonde]]), she is married to one of her peers, the also-underrated [[Performer~P51293~Dermot Mulroney~dermotmulroney]]. Keener graduated from Wheaton College in 1983 and in 1986 she landed her first film role, a small part in [[Feature~V615~About Last Night~aboutlastnight]]. She appeared in a string of independent films throughout the 1990s, in addition to all the aforementioned [[Performer~P87646~Di Cillo~tomdicillo]] titles; she had the lead, opposite [[Performer~P31463~Anne Heche~anneheche]], in the acclaimed [[Feature~V135538~Walking and Talking~walkingandtalking]] (1996), written and directed by [[Performer~P202047~Nicole Holofcener~nicoleholofcener]], a role which earned her an Independent Spirit Award nomination for Best Actress. In 2000, Keener received an Oscar nomination for her supporting role in [[Feature~V180993~Being John Malkovich~beingjohnmalkovich]]. Appearing in [[Feature~V181205~Simpatico~simpatico]] and giving birth to a baby boy the same year, the tireless actress continued to turn up in such quirky films as [[Feature~V259834~Death to Smoochy~deathtosmoochy]], [[Feature~V259839~Full Frontal~fullfrontal]], and eccentric director [[Performer~P263616~Spike Jonze~spikejonze]], follow-up to [[Feature~V180993~Being John Malkovich~beingjohnmalkovich]], [[Feature~V260395~Adaptation~adaptation]]. Keener would spend the next several years enjoying her reputation as a both charming and well respected actress, appearing in movies like The 40 Year-Old Virgin, Capote, Into the Wild, Synechdoche, New York, Where the Wild Things Are, Cyrus, and Peace, Love, and Misunderstanding. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement