Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Cradle Will Rock

  • The Princess Bride

1 of 2
At Home
  • Behaving Badly

  • The Story of Luke

  • The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure

  • Delhi Safari

  • Toys in the Attic

  • New Year's Eve

  • The Adventures of Tintin

  • Leather Jackets

  • No Strings Attached

  • Psych: 9

1 of 10

Cary Elwes Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 26, 1962
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The handsome blonde actor Cary Elwes (pronounced El-Ways) was born in London to a portrait painter and an interior designer. He moved to the U.S. to study at Sarah Lawrence College, but made his film debut in the U.K. with the coming-of-age drama [[Feature~V2577~Another Country~anothercountry]] (1984), co-starring alongside fellow handsome young actors [[Performer~P22333~Rupert Everett~ruperteverett]] and [[Performer~P23590~Colin Firth~colinfirth]]. He soon started a pattern of appearing in historical dramas and other period pieces, first with [[Feature~V28056~Lady Jane~ladyjane]] (1985), opposite [[Performer~P7266~Helena Bonham Carter~helenabonhamcarter]], and then as the lead role in [[Feature~V139153~Maschenka~maschenka]] (1986), based on the book by [[Performer~P302116~Vladimir Nabokov~vladimirnabokov]]. However, he didn't make his international film breakthrough until 1987 with [[Performer~P107886~Rob Reiner~robreiner]]'s classic adventure fairy tale [[Feature~V39218~The Princess Bride~theprincessbride]]. He seemed to possess a timeless quality essential for the role of Westley, the sensitive-yet-daring farm boy who becomes the swashbuckling Dred Pirate Roberts and gallantly fights for his love. Continuing with historical films, he capably handled a Southern accent for the Civil War drama [[Feature~V19993~Glory~glory]] and then tried a one-time stint as associate producer for the little-seen drama [[Feature~V28771~Leather Jackets~leatherjackets]]. Next, he made a successful jump to broad comedy with lead roles in [[Feature~V23268~Hot Shots!~hotshots]] (1991) and [[Feature~V41688~Robin Hood: Men in Tights~robinhood:menintights]] (1993). Switching to darker themes, he played Lord Arthur Holmwood in [[Feature~V6939~Bram Stoker's Dracula~bramstokersdracula]] (1992) and [[Performer~P65707~Alicia Silverstone~aliciasilverstone]]'s object of obsession in [[Feature~V11676~The Crush~thecrush]] (1993). The following year, he briefly returned to adventures for [[Feature~V108490~The Jungle Book~rudyardkiplingsthejunglebook]] before moving on to playing authority figures in the thrillers [[Feature~V135936~Twister~twister]] and [[Feature~V158674~Kiss the Girls~kissthegirls]]. In the late '90s, he voiced cartoons and appeared in a few made-for-TV movies and miniseries until 1999, when he transformed his usually slender frame for the role of portly producer [[Performer~P94949~John Houseman~johnhouseman]] ([[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]]' colleague) in [[Performer~P108437~Tim Robbins~timrobbins]]' [[Feature~V180004~Cradle Will Rock~cradlewillrock]]. He continued portraying cinematic legends in his next few films, including the German cinematographer [[Performer~P115697~Fritz Arno Wagner~fritzarnowagner]] in [[Feature~V201815~Shadow of the Vampire~shadowofthevampire]] and pioneering producer [[Performer~P95430~Thomas H. Ince~thomasince]] in [[Feature~V251894~The Cat's Meow~thecatsmeow]]. In 2001,he played a reoccurring role on [[Feature~V163252~The X-Files~thexfiles[tvseries]]] as FBI Assistant Brad Follmer and returned to romantic comedy adventures as Prince Regent Edgar in [[Feature~V282765~Ella Enchanted~ellaenchanted]] (2003).

He was the lead in the infamous 2004 slasher movie Saw, and had a lead part in the 2006 National Lampoon comedy Pucked. In 2007 he appeared in the ill-fated Lindsay Lohan movie Georgia Rule. He came back for Saw: The Final Chapter in 2010. 2011 turned out to be a busy year for Elwes with parts in the comedy No Strings Attached, the Spielberg-directed The Adventures of Tintin, and the ensemble romantic comedy New Year's Eve. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement