Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Man Who Fell to Earth

  • The Graduate

1 of 2
At Home
  • First Family

  • The Nude Bomb

  • Old Boyfriends

  • The Last Shot

  • Short Cuts

  • Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

  • Eating Raoul

  • Is There Sex After Death?

  • The Day of the Dolphin

  • What's Up, Doc?

1 of 10

Buck Henry Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter
  • Born: Dec 9, 1930
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Buck Henry Zuckerman

Buck Henry's meek and mild, ordinary guy demeanor belies a razor-sharp dry, wry wit that he aptly applies to his screenplays, the roles he portrays, and the projects he directs. Born Buck Henry Zuckerman to a successful Wall Street broker (who was once an Air Force general) and actress [[Performer~P70093~Ruth Taylor~ruthtaylor]], [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] launched his career as an actor at age 16, plying a small role in the Broadway version of Life With Father. During the Korean War, [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] served with the Seventh Army Repertory Company touring Germany performing in a musical comedy that he wrote and directed. During the '50s, [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] became somewhat famous for perpetrating the famous SINA hoax -- the acronym stands for the Society for Indecency to Naked Animals -- that made [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] a popular figure on talk shows where he would claim that naked animals were the cause of humanity's moral decay. In 1960, [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] worked briefly in an improvisational troupe before moving to the West Coast to write for the popular television satire [[Feature~V409094~That Was the Week That Was~thatwastheweekthatwas[tvseries]]] with hosts [[Performer~P1073~Steve Allen~steveallen]] and [[Performer~P50306~Garry Moore~garrymoore]]. He and fellow comic [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]] collaborated in 1964 to create the pilot for the successful spy spoof Get Smart. That year [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] also collaborated on the screenplay and starred in The Troublemaker, but it was not until [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]]'s second collaborative screenplay for The Graduate (1967) -- he also played a small role -- that he became one of Hollywood's most in-demand screenwriters.
In 1973, he and [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]] were Oscar nominated for their joint effort Heaven Can Wait, a remake of [[Feature~V22212~Here Comes Mr. Jordan~herecomesmrjordan]] (1941). In the film, [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] played the small but crucial role of the heavenly escort who goofs and brings a football player to heaven too soon. [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] was a periodic host on the NBC comedy series [[Feature~V108912~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynight]] during the '70s. Through the '80s and '90s, [[Performer~P140457~Henry~henry]] continued to occasionally write screenplays and play supporting roles in feature films. ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Advertisement