Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Brooke Smith doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Labor Day

  • The Night We Never Met

  • A Little Help

  • Fair Game

  • See You in the Morning

  • Getting Off

  • The Broken Giant

  • In Her Shoes

  • Melinda and Melinda

  • Kansas City

1 of 10

Brooke Smith Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The actress whose convincing portrayal of one of Buffalo Bill's potential victims in [[Feature~V44663~The Silence of the Lambs~thesilenceofthelambs]] had audiences squirming in their seats, Brooke Smith has subsequently built an enduring career with memorable roles in such efforts as [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s [[Feature~V135937~Kansas City~kansascity]] (1996) and the searing reality television satire [[Feature~V237156~Series 7: The Contenders~series7:thecontenders]] (2001). Born the daughter of renowned publicist Lois Smith and raised in New York City, Brooke was immersed in show business from the moment she left the womb. A graduate of Tappan Zee High School, [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]] is also a professional journalist whose published interviews with such stars as [[Performer~P30614~Ed Harris~edharris]] and [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]] have earned her kudos in the world of entertainment journalism. [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]] made her film debut in the 1988 drama [[Feature~V33034~The Moderns~themoderns]], and it was only three short years later that her breakthrough role in [[Feature~V44663~The Silence of the Lambs~thesilenceofthelambs]] would launch a successful career working with some of the most respected names in the business. Directed by everyone from [[Performer~P100911~Louis Malle~louismalle]] ([[Feature~V133847~Vanya on 42nd Street~vanyaon42ndstreet]]) to [[Performer~P106775~Sydney Pollack~sydneypollack]] ([[Feature~V180986~Random Hearts~randomhearts]]), [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]] can usually be spotted in minor, albeit sometimes pivotal supporting roles that always serve to elevate any project in which she appears. In 2001 [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]] took the lead, to memorable effect, in 2001's [[Feature~V237156~Series 7: The Contenders~series7:thecontenders]]. A film that took the concept of reality television to the next level, [[Feature~V237156~Series 7~series7:thecontenders]] found [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]] cast as an expectant mother who becomes a participant in a deadly television series in which participants are expected to kill or be killed. [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]]'s performance as the ice-cold participant who seems to derive pleasure from tormenting her opponents gave the film a disturbing edge that left audiences chilled to the core. Subsequently appearing in the Coen brothers' [[Feature~V246226~The Man Who Wasn't There~themanwhowasntthere]] (2001) and [[Performer~P110432~Joel Schumacher~joelschumacher]]'s big-budget action opus [[Feature~V262167~Bad Company~badcompany]], it seemed that [[Performer~P66486~Smith~loissmith]] might finally be on her way to becoming a recognizable figure in the world of film. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement