Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Benoît Magimel doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Special Forces

  • Little White Lies

  • La haine

  • La Demoiselle d'Honneur

  • Les Chevaliers Du Ciel

  • The Crimson Rivers II: The Angels of the...

  • The Nest

  • The Flower of Evil

  • Children of the Century

  • The Piano Teacher

1 of 10

Benoît Magimel Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The impossibly slick and suave, fair-haired Gallic actor Benoît Magimel grew up as the son of a Parisian banker and entered the ranks of show business at age 12, when he responded to a casting call for director [[Performer~P84765~Étienne Chatiliez~etiennechatiliez]]'s offbeat comedy [[Feature~V29212~La Vie est Une Longue Fleuve Tranquille~lifeisalongquietriver]] (1988). He promptly landed the lead in that smash, and his performance as one of two little boys switched at birth put him on the international map; in subsequent years, he grew into one of the most prolific French performers of his generation, enjoying collaborations with top-tiered directors including [[Performer~P113794~André Téchiné~andrétéchiné]] ([[Feature~V136317~Les Voleurs~lesvoleurs]], 1996), [[Performer~P37013~Mathieu Kassovitz~mathieukassovitz]] ([[Feature~V134793~La haine~lahaine]], 1995), and [[Performer~P93329~Michael Haneke~michaelhaneke]] ([[Feature~V246252~La Pianiste~thepianoteacher]], 2001). The said [[Performer~P113794~Téchiné~andrétéchiné]] role, in particular, further ensured his stardom, placing him alongside heavyweights [[Performer~P2912~Daniel Auteuil~danielauteuil]] and [[Performer~P18574~Catherine Deneuve~catherinedeneuve]] and proving that he could more than hold his own (in fact, he netted a César Award for it -- the French Oscar -- as the most promising actor). Magimel's many additional projects included the lead in the racially themed drama [[Feature~V232039~Lisa~lisa]] (2001) opposite [[Performer~P103455~Jeanne Moreau~jeannemoreau]], another lead in director [[Performer~P189361~Olivier Dahan~olivierdahan]]'s supernaturally charged detective drama [[Feature~V303256~The Crimson Rivers II~thecrimsonriversii:theangelsoftheapocalypse]] (2006) opposite [[Performer~P59644~Jean Reno~jeanreno]], and a four-barreled portrayal of an unstable pharmaceutical heir in director [[Performer~P84594~Claude Chabrol~claudechabrol]]'s acerbic black comedy thriller La Fille Coupée en Deux (2007). ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement