Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Paddington

  • Lilting

1 of 2
At Home
  • Days and Nights

  • Cloud Atlas

  • Skyfall

  • The Tempest

  • The Trench

  • Bright Star

  • Brideshead Revisited

  • I'm Not There

  • Perfume: The Story of a Murderer

  • Stoned

1 of 10

Ben Whishaw Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 14, 1980
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Benjamin John Whishaw

Not long after British actor Ben Whishaw debuted onscreen in the late '90s, he began to reveal a gift (and a proclivity) for essaying some of the more intense and unusual characterizations in contemporary cinema, occasionally delivering uncanny evocations of real-life figures. Whishaw was memorable as a young [[Performer~P108174~Keith Richards~keithrichards]] in [[Performer~P117326~Stephen Woolley~stephenwoolley]]'s [[Performer~P36057~Brian Jones~brianjones]] biopic [[Feature~V325469~Stoned~stoned]] (2005), then portrayed a demented young man so determined to capture "the scent of womanhood" that he resorts to serial murder in [[Performer~P222772~Tom Tykwer~tomtykwer]]'s psychological thriller [[Feature~V325005~Perfume: The Story of a Murderer~perfume:thestoryofamurderer]] (2006). Whishaw evoked a young [[Performer~P88557~Bob Dylan~bobdylan]] (one of many) in [[Performer~P93836~Todd Haynes~toddhaynes]]' controversial avant-garde biopic of the folk singer, [[Feature~V335936~I'm Not There~imnotthere]] (2007), then signed on to portray famed author John Keats in director [[Performer~P83988~Jane Campion~janecampion]]'s dramatization of the Keats/Fanny Brawne romance, [[Feature~V421643~Bright Star~brightstar]] (2008). That same year, audiences could catch Whishaw's portrayal of Sebastian in [[Performer~P239893~Julian Jarrold~julianjarrold]]'s big-screen [[Performer~P311680~Evelyn Waugh~evelynwaugh]] adaptation , [[Feature~V387894~Brideshead Revisited~bridesheadrevisited]] (2008). In the years to come, Winshaw would remain a bankable actor, with prominent roles in films like Skyfall and Cloud Atlas. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement