Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Bebe Neuwirth doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Adopt a Sailor

  • Fame

  • Game 6

  • The Big Bounce

  • Le Divorce

  • How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days

  • Green Card

  • Tadpole

  • The Adventures of Tom Thumb and Thumbelina

  • Say Anything...

1 of 10

Bebe Neuwirth Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Dec 31, 1958
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Beatrice Neuwirth

A versatile actress who has displayed a talent for both comedy and drama, Bebe Neuwirth is also a gifted dancer and vocalist who has won acclaim for her work on the musical stage, though she's still best known to television viewers as Lilith Sternin, Frazier Crane's tightly wound girlfriend (and later wife) on the popular comedy [[Feature~V174892~Cheers~cheers[tvseries]]]. Born Beatrice Neuwirth on New Year's Eve, 1958, she was raised in Princeton, NJ, where her father, Lee Neuwirth, was a mathematician and her mother, Sydney Anne Neuwirth, was an artist. Bebe began taking dance lessons at the age of five, and, while a student at Princeton High School, she began appearing in local ballet productions and community theater productions. After high school, Neuwirth studied dance at New York's prestigious Juilliard School, and in 1980 she made her professional debut as Shelia, a once-famous dancer looking to make a comeback, in a touring production of the long-running musical A Chorus Line. In 1982, Neuwirth hit Broadway in two different shows, Dancin', directed and choreographed by [[Performer~P90209~Bob Fosse~bobfosse]], and Little Me. In 1986, Neuwirth won the starring role in another [[Performer~P90209~Fosse~bobfosse]] musical, a revival of Sweet Charity, which later earned her a Tony award and cemented her reputation on Broadway. That year also marked Neuwirth's television debut (not counting a brief appearance as a member of the Whitney Dance Theater on the daytime drama The Edge of Night in 1981) with her first appearance as Lilith Sternin on [[Feature~V174892~Cheers~cheers[tvseries]]]; Lilith soon became a regular fixture on [[Feature~V174892~Cheers~cheers[tvseries]]] and Neuwirth won two Emmy awards for her work until Lilith was written out of the show (at Neuwirth's request) in 1992, to allow Neuwirth to pursue film and stage work. Lilith, however, occasionally made return visits to [[Feature~V174892~Cheers~cheers[tvseries]]], and later on [[Performer~P28139~Kelsey Grammer~kelseygrammer]]'s spin-off series, [[Feature~V258668~Frasier~frasier[tvseries]]]. Neuwirth made her feature-film debut in 1989 with a small role as a guidance counselor in [[Feature~V43033~Say Anything...~sayanything]], and while a steady stream of supporting roles followed in such films as [[Feature~V7464~Bugsy~bugsy]], [[Feature~V20873~Green Card~greencard]], and [[Feature~V135482~Jumanji~jumanji]], she had a hard time finding screen roles which suited her edgy charm. She continued to have better luck on-stage, and in 1997 her performance in the Broadway revival of Chicago won her the Tony and Drama Desk awards. After scoring meatier roles in the films [[Feature~V180140~Summer of Sam~summerofsam]] and [[Feature~V181299~Liberty Heights~libertyheights]], Neuwirth returned to episodic television in the well-reviewed but short-lived drama series [[Feature~V220885~Deadline~deadline[tvseries]]], in which she worked alongside [[Performer~P57054~Oliver Platt~oliverplatt]], [[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]], and [[Performer~P14627~Tom Conti~tomconti]]. In 2002, Neuwirth finally scored a film role that truly suited her talents as Diane, a sexy fourtysomething woman who seduces her best friend's teenage son in the independent comedy [[Feature~V259868~Tadpole~tadpole]]. She had a small part in the romantic comedy How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days, and in 2005 she landed a recurring role on Law & Order: Special Victims Unit. In 2009 she played one of the teachers at a high school for the performing arts in the remake of Fame. ~ Rovi

Advertisement