Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Anthony Mackie doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier

  • Repentance

  • The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete

  • The Fifth Estate

  • Runner Runner

  • Pain & Gain

  • Gangster Squad

  • 10 Years

  • Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

  • Man on a Ledge

1 of 10

Anthony Mackie Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1979
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A Big Easy-born actor who honed his skills at the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts before completing his education at Juillard, Anthony Mackie portrayed ill-fated rapper [[Performer~P64741~Tupac Shakur~tupacshakur]] in a stage production of Up Against the Wind before taunting Detroit-based rapper [[Performer~P287398~Eminem~eminem]] as a member of the rival rhyming crew in the box-office hit [[Feature~V261159~8 Mile~8mile]]. Subsequently appearing onscreen alongside some of the biggest names in the business, Mackie took the lead as a sperm-donating former biotech executive opposite [[Performer~P3957~Ellen Barkin~ellenbarkin]] and [[Performer~P86915~Ossie Davis~ossiedavis]] in [[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]]'s [[Feature~V301965~She Hate Me~shehateme]], and proved that he could even hold his own against such screen legends as [[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]] and [[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]] with a substantial role in the boxing drama [[Feature~V305809~Million Dollar Baby~milliondollarbaby]]. While it may be on the silver screen that Mackie has courted the majority of fame, the ascending star also appeared on the Broadway stage in high-profile productions of Ma Rainey's Black Bottom and Drowning Crow.

Few actors could dream of a career that advanced as quickly as Mackie's did, and the same year he played leading man in [[Feature~V301965~She Hate Me~shehateme]], the then-twenty-five-year-old would earn an Independent Spirit Award nomination for his memorable portrayal of a homeless shelter employee struggling with his cultural and sexual identity in [[Feature~V300993~Brother to Brother~brothertobrother]]. Just when it seemed as if Mackie's rigorous work schedule couldn't get any more demanding, the actor would appear in no less than six movies in 2006 including the racially charged kidnapping drama [[Feature~V299011~Freedomland~freedomland]], the underground street-ball drama [[Feature~V344539~Crossover~crossover]], and opposite [[Performer~P196967~Matthew McConaughey~matthewmcconaughey]] and [[Performer~P208451~Matthew Fox~matthewfox]] in the fact-based football film [[Feature~V344525~We Are Marshall~wearemarshall]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement