Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Superman III

At Home
  • Cross My Heart

  • Falling Up

  • One on One

  • King of the Gypsies

  • Smile

  • Love at Large

  • Gigantic (A Tale of Two Johns)

  • A Mighty Wind

  • Andre

  • Superman III

1 of 10

Annette O'Toole Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Apr 1, 1953
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Woefully underappreciated American actress Annette O'Toole combined intelligence, wit, and delicate, often teasing allure with a girl-next-door magnetism that served her impeccably, both during her ingenue years and well into adulthood. Born in 1953, the scarlet-haired Houston native followed the lead of her dance studio owner mother by practicing her footwork with stunning determination. Annette's family moved to the City of Angels before her 14th birthday, where she shifted gears from dancing to acting, enrolled in drama courses, and landed guest roles in such series as [[Feature~V175253~The Partridge Family~thepartridgefamily[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V126101~Hawaii Five-O~hawaiifiveo[tvseries]]].

In 1974, O'Toole tackled her first major feature role -- that of sweet-hearted beauty pageant contestant Doria Houston (otherwise known as Miss Anaheim) in [[Performer~P108355~Michael Ritchie~michaelritchie]]'s legendary satire [[Feature~V45262~Smile~smile]] (1975). She did stellar work opposite [[Performer~P81455~Robby Benson~robbybenson]] in the romantic comedy [[Feature~V36463~One on One~oneonone]] (1977), which premiered to favorable critical reviews, but a similar effort with [[Performer~P9844~Gary Busey~garybusey]] a few years later, called [[Feature~V18078~Foolin' Around~foolinaround]] (1980), failed to display like chemistry. For better or worse, O'Toole's big break arrived in 1982, when she was cast opposite [[Performer~P59343~Christopher Reeve~christopherreeve]] as Lana Lang in [[Feature~V47871~Superman 3~supermaniii]]; the film, of course, clocked in as an enormous stinker, overbloated to the point of absurdity, with O'Toole providing its only saving grace.That film imparted bittersweet undercurrents to O'Toole's life; it brought her the greatest character identification of her career, to be certain, but (along with an ill-advised appearance in [[Performer~P110362~Paul Schrader~paulschrader]]'s awful 1982 movie [[Feature~V8597~Cat People~catpeople]]), may have contributed to keeping her offscreen for several years. She rebounded with force in [[Performer~P81645~Armyan Bernstein~armyanbernstein]]'s outstanding sex comedy [[Feature~V11606~Cross My Heart~crossmyheart]], as one of two romantic leads opposite [[Performer~P65439~Martin Short~martinshort]]. The late 1987 release displayed the wit, charisma, and intelligence of both of its stars (and incorporated a hilarious nod to [[Feature~V47871~Superman 3~supermaniii]], suggesting that [[Performer~P81645~Bernstein~armyanbernstein]] and [[Performer~P105584~Gail Parent~gailparent]] may have written the role specifically for O'Toole), but for some unascertainable reason, failed to connect with an audience.O'Toole then signed for roles in the [[Performer~P109237~Alan Rudolph~alanrudolph]] comedy-mystery [[Feature~V30335~Love at Large~loveatlarge]] (1989) and the horrific [[Performer~P97473~Stephen King~stephenking]] telemovie [[Feature~V46835~It~it]] (1990), which found the actress, along with [[Performer~P60400~John Ritter~johnritter]], [[Performer~P114045~Richard Thomas~richardthomas]], and others, squaring off against homicidal clown Pennywise ([[Performer~P16268~Tim Curry~timcurry]]). Her next major feat came in the late '90s, when she played Lisa, the spunky ex-wife of the police detective title character ([[Performer~P35814~Don Johnson~donjohnson]]) on the series [[Feature~V337073~Nash Bridges~nashbridges[tvseries]]] (1996-2001). She then achieved recognition by playing a different Superman role than the one previously essayed -- that of Clark Kent's mother, Martha -- on the popular prime-time series [[Feature~V255964~Smallville~smallville[tvseries]]] (2001). At about the same time, O'Toole made headlines by marrying her second husband, comedian and actor [[Performer~P102180~Michael McKean~michaelmckean]] ([[Feature~V282908~Laverne & Shirley~laverneshirley[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V49553~This Is Spinal Tap~thisisspinaltap]]), in 1999. The two co-authored a song for the [[Performer~P92825~Christopher Guest~christopherguest]] mockumentary [[Feature~V278224~A Mighty Wind~amightywind]] (2003), entitled "A Kiss at the End of the Rainbow," in which [[Performer~P102180~McKean~michaelmckean]] co-starred sans O'Toole. In a particularly memorable bit, the couple performed that number together on-stage at the 2004 Academy Awards ceremony. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement