Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Anne Parillaud doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Sex is Comedy

  • Map of the Human Heart

  • La Femme Nikita

  • Shattered Image

  • Innocent Blood

  • The Man in the Iron Mask

1 of 6

Anne Parillaud Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: May 6, 1960
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

French beauty Anne Parillaud paid her dues in teen pictures and B-dramas before earning international acclaim as [[Performer~P81731~Luc Besson~lucbesson]]'s unforgettable Nikita ([[Feature~V74893~La Femme Nikita~lafemmenikita]]) (1990). Raised in Paris, Parillaud made her film debut as "the girl with the kitten" in Un Amour de Sable (1977). Still in high school, she hoped to pursue a law career until a more substantial role in [[Performer~P226616~Michel Lang~michellang]]'s teen comedy [[Feature~V147769~L'Hôtel de la Plage~lhoteldelaplage]] ([[Feature~V147769~The Beach Hotel~lhoteldelaplage]]) (1978) (which she filmed during summer break) made her love acting. Parillaud earned a reputation for playing promiscuous teens in [[Feature~V147620~Écoute Voir~écoutevoir]] ([[Feature~V147620~Look See~écoutevoir]]) (1978), [[Feature~V149636~Girls~girls]] (1980), and [[Feature~V70899~Patrizia~patricia]] ([[Feature~V70899~Patricia~patricia]]) (1980). She went on to star in two thrillers for her then-boyfriend [[Performer~P87436~Alain Delon~alaindelon]], [[Feature~V129915~Pour La Peau d'un Flic~pourlapeaudunflic]] ([[Feature~V129915~For a Cop's Hide~pourlapeaudunflic]]) (1981), and [[Feature~V151164~Le Battant~lebattant]] ([[Feature~V151164~The Cache~lebattant]]) (1983). In 1985, while taking a break from acting to reinvent her image, Parillaud met director [[Performer~P81731~Luc Besson~lucbesson]] at a Paris film festival. They moved in together and had a daughter in 1987. In the meantime, [[Performer~P81731~Besson~lucbesson]] wrote [[Feature~V74893~Nikita~lafemmenikita]], the story of a drug-addicted murderess who is transformed into a political assassin by a secret government agency. To prepare for the violent crime drama, the actress slept in the Paris metro, took judo lessons, and learned how to fire a handgun. She earned a César for her performance in the film, which was France's second highest grossing picture of 1990 and spawned both an American remake and a television series. Parillaud and [[Performer~P81731~Besson~lucbesson]] ended their five-year romance shortly after [[Feature~V74893~Nikita~lafemmenikita]]'s release, and the actress left France to make her U.S. debut in [[Performer~P98623~John Landis~johnlandis]]' failed vampire comedy [[Feature~V24897~Innocent Blood~innocentblood]] (1982). She then starred in the equally disastrous [[Feature~V31361~Map of the Human Heart~mapofthehumanheart]] (1992), before returning to Europe to play [[Performer~P16667~Béatrice Dalle~béatricedalle]]'s sister in the unremarkable [[Feature~V134191~À la Folie~àlafolie]] ([[Feature~V134191~Six Days, Six Nights~àlafolie]]) (1994). Parillaud gave stand-out performances as an oppressed mother in [[Feature~V135767~Frankie Starlight~frankiestarlight]] (1995) and as a rich seductress in [[Feature~V136650~Passage à L'Acte~passagealacte]] (1996), but was still unable to match the success she had as Nikita. She did not fare any better opposite [[Performer~P10031~Gabriel Byrne~gabrielbyrne]] and [[Performer~P18926~Leonardo Di Caprio~leonardodicaprio]] in the flop [[Feature~V160668~The Man in the Iron Mask~themanintheironmask]] (1998) or with [[Performer~P3536~William Baldwin~williambaldwin]] and [[Performer~P199626~Graham Greene~grahamgreene]] in [[Feature~V173804~Shattered Image~shatteredimage]] (1998). Yet, the indomitable and talented Parillaud continued to work steadily into the new millennium, appearing in [[Performer~P99291~Claude Lelouch~claudelelouch]]'s romantic comedy [[Feature~V184663~Une Pour Toutes~unepourtoutes]] ([[Feature~V184663~One 4 All~unepourtoutes]]) (2000), [[Performer~P306210~Olivier Marchal~oliviermarchal]]'s action flick [[Feature~V262452~Gangsters~gangsters]] (2002), and [[Performer~P82912~Catherine Breillat~catherinebreillat]]'s farce [[Feature~V265275~Sex Is Comedy~sexiscomedy]] (2002). ~ Aubry Anne D'Arminio, Rovi

Advertisement