Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Ann Carter doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The North Star

  • I Married a Witch

  • The Two Mrs. Carrolls

  • Song of Love

  • The Fabulous Dorseys

  • The Commandos Strike at Dawn

1 of 6

Ann Carter Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 16, 1936
  • Died: Jan 27, 2014

Ann Carter was a child actress and young ingénue of the 1940s, who first came to the attention of producers and the movie press because of her startling resemblance to [[Performer~P40073~Veronica Lake~veronicalake]]. After making her debut in an uncredited role in [[Feature~V148941~The Last of the Duanes~thelastoftheduanes]] (1941), she played a small role in [[Feature~V10536~Commandos Strike at Dawn~thecommandosstrikeatdawn]] the same year, and then portrayed the daughter of [[Performer~P40073~Lake~veronicalake]]'s character in [[Feature~V24114~I Married a Witch~imarriedawitch]] (1942). Her biggest and best role, however, was in the [[Performer~P99671~Val Lewton~vallewton]]-produced [[Feature~V11814~Curse of the Cat People~thecurseofthecatpeople]] (1944), in which she played the sweet, impressionable daughter of [[Performer~P111915~Kent Smith~kentsmith]] and [[Performer~P58751~Jane Randolph~janerandolph]] (whose characters had previously appeared in [[Performer~P99671~Lewton~vallewton]]'s [[Feature~V8596~Cat People~catpeople]]), who is beset by images of ghosts and the machinations of a disturbed adult ([[Performer~P62210~Elizabeth Russell~elizabethrussell]]) in a huge, dark, old neighboring house. Carter played the young Texas Guinan (portrayed by [[Performer~P34174~Betty Hutton~bettyhutton]] as an adult) in [[Feature~V96499~Incendiary Blonde~incendiaryblonde]], but all of her scenes were deleted. She was in a few more notable films, including [[Feature~V51404~The Two Mrs. Carrolls~thetwomrscarrolls]], for which she won an award for her portrayal of the preteen daughter, and [[Feature~V61069~The Boy With Green Hair~theboywithgreenhair]], but somehow didn't manage to regularly get roles that were as good as her talent. She portrayed a large supporting role in [[Feature~V85418~Blondie Hits the Jackpot~blondiehitsthejackpot]] (1949), a very late entry in Columbia Pictures' "Blondie" series, at age 13. Carter contracted polio in 1948 and spent years recovering; she wasn't seen again until her appearance in [[Performer~P117986~Fred Zinnemann~fredzinnemann]]'s superb [[Feature~V32131~Member of the Wedding~thememberofthewedding]] (1952), which was her last acting role. She died in 2014 at age 77. ~ Bruce Eder, Rovi

Advertisement