Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Kill the Messenger

  • Let's Be Cops

  • Rio 2

1 of 3
At Home
  • Let's Be Cops

  • Rio 2

  • Rob the Mob

  • At Middleton

  • A Dark Truth

  • For Greater Glory

  • 5 Days of War

  • City Island

  • New York, I Love You

  • The Pink Panther 2

1 of 10

Andy Garcia Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Producer
  • Born: Apr 12, 1956
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Andres Arturo Garci-Menendez

Born Andrés Arturo García-Menéndez on April 12th, 1956, actor Andy Garcia was five-years-old when he fled with his family from his native Cuba to Miami, where Garcia's father, a former lawyer, established a successful cosmetics business upon becoming an American citizen. Following his graduation from Florida International University, Garcia moved to L.A. and performed briefly as a standup comic, working as a furniture expediter and waiter when jobs were scarce. While his TV debut was a small role in the 1981 pilot of [[Feature~V175069~Hill Street Blues~hillstreetblues[tvseries]]], Garcia did not have to travel far from his adopted hometown for his film bow, [[Feature~V6285~Blue Skies Again~blueskiesagain]] (1983), which was shot on location in Florida. (Also making her first screen appearance in this forgettable baseball comedy was actress [[Performer~P61121~Mimi Rogers~mimirogers]]).

It was not until he was cast as a drug kingpin in [[Performer~P80067~Hal Ashby~halashby]]'s [[Feature~V319~8 Million Ways to Die~8millionwaystodie]] (1985) that Garcia's career really took off. After turning in strong roles in both [[Feature~V51947~The Untouchables~theuntouchables]] (1987) and [[Feature~V46436~Stand and Deliver~standanddeliver]] (1988), he achieved an additional degree of stardom when he was cast as Michael Corleone's hot-headed nephew in [[Feature~V20079~The Godfather Part III~thegodfatherpartiii]] (1990), a role for which he earned Best Supporting Actor Oscar and Golden Globe nominations. The range of Garcia's talents was impressive enough for screenwriter [[Performer~P81086~Henry Bean~henrybean]] to write the script for the 1990 police-corruption drama [[Feature~V25075~Internal Affairs~internalaffairs]] with the actor specifically in mind. But after several years of on-the-edge characters, Garcia softened his screen image as the too-good-to-be-true husband of an alcoholic ([[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]]) in [[Feature~V131194~When a Man Loves a Woman~whenamanlovesawoman]] (1994).

Garcia's career waned a bit during the second half of the '90s, and the actor concentrated some of his energies on starring in various made-for-TV movies and such Spanish-made films as [[Feature~V154706~Death in Granada~deathingranada]] (1997). Although Garcia found his place in American cinema -- indeed, he was one of the few Latino stars to successfully cross over into Hollywood films -- his deep connection and loyalty to his Cuban heritage was illustrated by his involvement in projects that reflect that sentiment. He has produced and directed a tribute to Cuban mambo artist Cachoao entitled [[Feature~V224494~Cachoao: Like His Rhythm There Is No Other~cachaocomosiritmonohaydos]], and, at one time, he planned to direct and star in a film adaptation of The Lost City, an epic novel of revolution and exile by Cuban writer [[Performer~P34427~Guillermo Cabrera Infante~guillermocabrerainfante]].

Garcia worked alongside George Clooney and Brad Pitt for 2001’s Ocean’s 11, in which he portrayed the unscrupulous owner of a casino, and appeared in the film’s sequels Ocean’s 12 (2004) and Ocean’s 13 (2007). He joined the cast of The Pink Panter 2 in 2009, and took a lead role in the historical drama Greater Glory (2012), which follows a group of Mexican patriots devoted to defending future generations from tyranny.

A devoted family man, Garcia lives outside of the spotlight with his wife [[Performer~P73476~Maria Victoria~mariavictoria]] (also a Cuban immigrant) and their three daughters. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement