Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
At Home
  • Breathe In

  • Devil's Knot

  • Escape Plan

  • Win Win

  • Jack Goes Boating

  • Green Zone

  • The Missing Person

  • Bob Funk

  • Changeling

  • Getting Off

1 of 10

Amy Ryan Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The capable and effective actress Amy Ryan proved herself adept at a myriad of portrayals in many genres. Ryan was often, though not always, cast as a solid and dependable housewife, mother, or girlfriend, per her contributions to the 2004 [[Feature~V313803~Keane~keane]] (as the impoverished single mother of a young girl, who unwittingly entrusts her daughter to a schizophrenic), the 2006 [[Feature~V331951~Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World~lookingforcomedyinthemuslimworld]] (as [[Performer~P83146~Albert Brooks~albertbrooks]]' wife and straight man), and the 2005 [[Feature~V319184~Capote~capote]] (as the wife of [[Performer~P14803~Chris Cooper~chriscooper]]'s no-nonsense sheriff). On television, Ryan gained notice as Officer Beatrice "Beadie" Russell on the critically acclaimed HBO drama series [[Feature~V270832~The Wire~thewire[tvseries]]].

In 2007, Ryan ascended several notches in terms of feature billing with her portrayal of Carolyn Cassady, the wife of 1950s icon [[Performer~P221563~Neal Cassady~nealcassady]], in director [[Performer~P442163~Noah Buschel~noahbuschel]]'s eponymous biopic of the legendary beatnik. Ryan also tackled a small supporting role in the [[Performer~P10850~Steve Carell~stevecarell]] comedy [[Feature~V335738~Dan in Real Life~daninreallife]]. That same year, her work in two crime films catapulted her even further into the limelight. As the mother of the missing girl in [[Feature~V348172~Gone Baby Gone~gonebabygone]], Ryan earned rave reviews and dominated the year-end critics awards for Best Supporting Actress, garnering Screen Actors Guild, Golden Globe, and Oscar nominations in the process. Her work as [[Performer~P31094~Ethan Hawke~ethanhawke]]'s dissatisfied ex-wife in [[Feature~V352063~Before the Devil Knows You're Dead~beforethedevilknowsyouredead]] helped cement her new status as a rising star.

She appeared in Clint Eastwood's period drama Changeling, and had a major part in the action thriller Green Zone in 2010. She joined the cast of In Treatment for that program's thirds and final season on HBO. Philip Seymour Hoffman cast her as his leading lady for his directorial debut Jack Goes Boating, and she was Paul Giamatti's loving wife in Win Win. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement