Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Amy Irving doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Competition

  • James Dean

  • Benefit of the Doubt

  • Adam

  • Yentl

  • Crossing Delancey

  • Anastasia: The Mystery of Anna

  • Carried Away

  • A Show of Force

  • I'm Not Rappaport

1 of 10

Amy Irving Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Sep 10, 1953
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Amy Irving was the daughter of influential theatrical producer/director Jules Irving and actress [[Performer~P57166~Priscilla Pointer~priscillapointer]]. Trained at the American Conservatory Theater and Britain's LAMDA, Irving made her off-Broadway debut in 1970. She remained loyal to the theater even after establishing herself in films, co-starring on Broadway as Mozart's wife in Amadeus (1982), and receiving a 1988 Obie Award for [[Feature~V132169~Road to Mecca~theroadtomecca]]; other notable stage credits are [[Feature~V21912~Heartbreak House~heartbreakhouse]] and [[Feature~V151808~The Heidi Chronicles~theheidichronicles]]. She made an unforgettable film debut as a scheming high-schooler in the [[Performer~P17596~Brian DePalma~briandepalma]] shocker [[Feature~V8351~Carrie~carrie]] (1976). In 1983, she earned an Oscar nomination for making us believe that she was in love with male-drag-wearing [[Performer~P112652~Barbra Streisand~barbrastreisand]] in [[Feature~V55765~Yentl~yentl]]. Her TV resumé includes the lavish miniseries [[Feature~V16793~The Far Pavillions~thefarpavilions]] (1985) and the title character in [[Feature~V2170~Anastasia: The Mystery of Anna~anastasia:themysteryofanna]] (1986). In 1987, she launched a children's-film series with [[Feature~V42309~Rumpelstiltskin~rumpelstiltskin]] (1987), directed by her brother [[Performer~P95511~David Irving~davidirving]]. Irving was married to director [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]] from 1985 to 1989. Since 1990, Amy Irving has referred to herself as the wife of Brazilian filmmaker [[Performer~P80789~Bruno Barreto~brunobarreto]], though the couple hasn't yet made it official. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement