Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Amber Tamblyn doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Django Unchained

  • Main Street

  • 127 Hours

  • Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

  • Spring Breakdown

  • The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2

  • Spiral

  • Havoc 2: Normal Adolescent Behavior

  • Stephanie Daley

  • The Grudge 2

1 of 10

Amber Tamblyn Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: May 14, 1983
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Amber Rose Tamblyn

As the daughter of American child star-turned-cult favorite [[Performer~P69732~Russ Tamblyn~russtamblyn]] ([[Feature~V284280~Peyton Place~peytonplace[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V216953~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks[tvseries]]]), Hollywood heartthrob and ingenue Amber Tamblyn inherited the stunning red hair, fair complexion, and acting chops of her famous dad. Born in the early '80s to [[Performer~P69732~Russ~russtamblyn]] and wife Bonnie Murray, Tamblyn was discovered by an agent at her school during her preteen years, and soon landed a prominent role as the maniacal tot Emily Quartermaine on [[Feature~V284332~General Hospital~generalhospital[tvseries]]] -- a turn she sustained from 1995 to 2001.

Tamblyn guested on such series as [[Feature~V174873~Buffy the Vampire Slayer~buffythevampireslayer[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V226994~Boston Public~bostonpublic[tvseries]]] in the early 2000s, and tackled a small role in [[Performer~P234707~Gore Verbinski~goreverbinski]]'s 2002 shocker [[Feature~V261093~The Ring~thering]] (as one of Samara's unfortunate victims), but the actress failed to generate a sizeable fan base prior to the advent of the fantasy-tinged drama series [[Feature~V295557~Joan of Arcadia~joanofarcadia[tvseries]]] in 2003. Tamblyn received first billing in that program as Joan Girardi, a seemingly average high school teenager who is tapped by the Almighty to perform various assignments. [[Feature~V295557~Joan~joanofarcadia[tvseries]]] drew a substantial cult following and outstanding critical assessments (USA Today pegged it as the most promising dramatic series of 2003), but unfortunately, its popularity failed to spread beyond a small enthusiastic band of adherents and it folded within two years.

Tamblyn then segued back into film work, with first billing in [[Performer~P98351~Ken Kwapis~kenkwapis]]' coming-of-age comedy drama [[Feature~V308155~The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants~thesisterhoodofthetravelingpants]] in 2005, as one of four teenage girlfriends (alongside [[Performer~P302580~America Ferrera~americaferrera]], [[Performer~P407908~Blake Lively~blakelively]], and [[Performer~P334003~Alexis Bledel~alexisbledel]]) who make a good-luck pact; the picture received outstanding reviews and ensured continued stardom for Tamblyn. In 2006, the young actress essayed the title role in [[Performer~P233379~Hilary Brougher~hilarybrougher]]'s fine psychological drama [[Feature~V339998~Stephanie Daley~stephaniedaley]], about a troubled teenager accused of killing her newborn child. Tamblyn also traveled the programmer route that year with a turn in the horror sequel [[Feature~V325767~The Grudge 2~thegrudge2]]. The following year, the actress starred in [[Performer~P513035~Beth Schacter~bethschacter]]'s teen comedy [[Feature~V353446~Normal Adolescent Behavior~havoc2:normaladolescentbehavior]] and [[Performer~P491707~Rigoberto Castaneda~rigobertocastaneda]]'s indie thriller [[Feature~V376600~Blackout~blackout]]. In the latter -- a high-wire suspense picture about a bunch of people trapped in a hospital elevator -- Tamblyn played a young woman desperate to reach her grandmother before the elderly woman dies. In 2008, she reprised her [[Feature~V308155~Traveling Pants~thesisterhoodofthetravelingpants]] role in the sequel, [[Feature~V402223~The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2~thesisterhoodofthetravelingpants2]].

Amber Tamblyn is also a prolific poet and runs her own website, The Rebel Asylum, with postings of her work. Her volume of poetry Free Stallion was published by Simon & Schuster in 2005. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement