Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back

At Home
  • Wreck-It Ralph

  • Mansome

  • The Hammer

  • A Galaxy Far, Far Away

  • Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back

  • Buzz Lightyear of Star Command: The...

  • Down to You

1 of 7

Adam Carolla Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Executive Producer
  • Born: May 27, 1964
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A comedic performer who followed a most unlikely (and circuitous) route into show business, Adam Carolla pursued careers as a carpenter and boxing coach before entering the celebrity arena, first on radio, as the co-host of the call-in program Loveline, opposite psychotherapist [[Performer~P288424~Dr. Drew Pinsky~drewpinsky]]. The program netted such a massive fan base and viewership that it spawned not only an MTV spin-off in 1996, but its own website, a book, speaking tours, movie appearances by the co-hosts, and the like. Carolla then made an even bigger impact on the small screen as the creator and host of two popular satirical series. The first, [[Feature~V180300~The Man Show~themanshow[tvseries]]], debuted in 1999; this tongue-in-cheek homage to machismo, done in a talk-show format, found its co-hosts (Carolla and comic [[Performer~P301957~Jimmy Kimmel~jimmykimmel]]) brazenly and unapologetically celebrating the basest qualities and "interests" of chauvinistic men, such as ogling women, guzzling beer, and watching porn. That program would eventually fold in 2004, a year after Carolla and [[Performer~P301957~Kimmel~jimmykimmel]] left; in the meantime, Carolla and his colleagues debuted another series on Comedy Central network, [[Feature~V274113~Crank Yankers~crankyankers[tvseries]]] (2002) -- a [[Feature~V133618~Jerky Boys~thejerkyboys]]-style homage to prank phone calls that found celebrities conducting outrageous (and frequently vulgar) "shock" phone calls while onscreen puppets "acted-out" the dialogues.

Carolla subsequently made national headlines for taking over much of [[Performer~P68057~Howard Stern~howardstern]]'s radio market (alongside rock singer [[Performer~P61747~David Lee Roth~davidleeroth]]) when [[Performer~P68057~Stern~howardstern]] transitioned to Sirius Satellite Radio in January 2006. Carolla also acted in films including [[Feature~V181535~Down to You~downtoyou]] (2000), [[Feature~V250563~Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back~jayandsilentbobstrikeback]] (2001), and [[Feature~V392256~The Hammer~thehammer]] (2007). A third TV series, [[Feature~V337967~The Adam Carolla Project~theadamcarollaproject[tvseries]]] (2005), found Carolla and [[Performer~P301957~Kimmel~jimmykimmel]] spoofing programs such as [[Feature~V264205~This Old House~thisoldhouse[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V316675~Extreme Makeover: Home Edition~extrememakeover:homeedition[tvseries]]] by humorously "fixing up" Carolla's childhood home on camera. In 2008, the comic also participated as a dancer opposite [[Performer~P507219~Julianne Hough~juliannehough]] in [[Feature~V432247~season six~dancingwiththestars:season06]] of the competitive reality series [[Feature~V354569~Dancing with the Stars~dancingwiththestars[tvseries]]].

He built a podcasting empire on the strength of his loyal fan-following, giving others a model for how ad-supported traditional radio can adapt to the new medium. In 2012 he lent his comedic insights to the Morgan Spurlock documentary Mansome. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement