Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
At Home
  • Think Like a Man Too

  • Welcome to the Jungle

  • Baggage Claim

  • Some Girl(s)

  • Lovelace

  • The Oranges

  • Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

  • Damsels in Distress

  • Scream 4

  • The Romantics

1 of 10

Adam Brody Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Apr 8, 1980
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Upon realizing that his parents would never accept the fact that their son wanted to pursue a career in acting, Adam Brody did exactly what any red-blooded, determined American teen would do in order to achieve his dream -- he lied to them. Thankfully for Brody, his gamble at fame was a success, and following a noteworthy feature debut in the made-for-television movie [[Feature~V201751~Growing Up Brady~growingupbrady]], the talented young star would go on to land roles in such high-profile releases as [[Feature~V249608~American Pie 2~americanpie2]] and [[Feature~V261093~The Ring~thering]]. Knowing that he had what it took to launch a successful film and television career -- but unable to convince his parents of his certainty -- the San Diego native eventually persuaded his mother and father to allow him to remain on the West Coast following his high-school graduation and attend college in Los Angeles. Of course, Brody's higher education was merely a guise for his true plans, and in lieu of enrolling in classes, the deceptive aspiring thespian instead opted to hire an acting coach and a personal manager in preparation for hitting the audition circuit. Soon chosen to portray [[Feature~V174864~Brady Bunch~thebradybunch[tvseries]]] actor [[Performer~P76373~Barry Williams~barrywilliams]] for the screen adaptation of his revealing memoir Growing Up Brady, Brody was on his way to stardom. The millennial turnover proved an incredibly fruitful period for the young actor's blossoming career, with a series of small-screen appearances in such popular television series as [[Feature~V181328~Once and Again~onceandagain[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V237121~Grounded for Life~groundedforlife[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V181316~Judging Amy~judgingamy[tvseries]]] offering notable exposure before Brody joined the cast of the hit MTV series [[Feature~V180642~Undressed~undressed[tvseries]]]. After a brief appearance in [[Feature~V249608~American Pie 2~americanpie2]], Brody returned to the small screen and MTV for the short-lived cult series The Sausage Factory in 2001. Following a doomed appearance in [[Feature~V261093~The Ring~thering]], Brody once again returned to television for a lead role on the popular Fox drama [[Feature~V291496~The O.C.~theoc[tvseries]]] At this point, it was obvious to all who had followed his career that Brody was more than just another pretty face, with roles in the carefree skateboard comedy [[Feature~V283034~Grind~grind]] and the affecting family drama [[Feature~V312422~Missing Brendan~missingbrendan]] serving to highlight his remarkable versatility before the cameras. In 2005, Brody could be seen opposite Hollywood heavies [[Performer~P56988~Brad Pitt~bradpitt]] and [[Performer~P36009~Angelina Jolie~angelinajolie]] in [[Feature~V176043~Go~go]] director [[Performer~P205240~Doug Liman~dougliman]]'s action thriller [[Feature~V291616~Mr. and Mrs. Smith~mrmrssmith]].

He continued to work, often in indie comedies like The Ten and Smiley Face. In 2007 he had the lead in Jon Kasdan's In the Land of Women opposite such female heavyweights as Meg Ryan, Kirsten Stewart, and Olympia Dukakis. He appeared in the Diablo Cody-scripted horror film Jennifer's Body, and in the Kevin Smith action comedy Cop Out. He was well-used by director Whit Stillman in his college campus comedy Damsels in Distress in 2011, and the next year he played in the bittersweet comedy Seeking a Friend for the End of the World. 2013 saw Brody cast as porn legend Harry Reems in the biopic Lovelace. That same year he had a recurring role on the TV series House of Lies, and he played the gay best friend to the main character in the romantic comedy Baggage Claim. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement