Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Accident Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The complex relationships among an Oxford professor, one of his students, and the young woman who captivates both of them is the subject of this difficult but rewarding drama. Director [[Performer~P100179~Joseph Losey~josephlosey]] and writer [[Performer~P106552~Harold Pinter~haroldpinter]] had previously collaborated on 1963's [[Feature~V43773~The Servant~theservant]], and they surrounded this recasting of a [[Performer~P103649~Nicholas Mosley~nicholasmosley]] novel with a similar atmosphere of ominous mystery. The story is presented through flashbacks and disconnected memories that trace the characters' interactions. Though the mood is occasionally brightened by satirical views of the academic world, the overall effect is rather somber, concerned with missed opportunities, unhealthy obsessions, and unavoidable regret. [[Performer~P7026~Dirk Bogarde~dirkbogarde]] superbly captures the pensive professor's torment, with able support from [[Performer~P63221~Jacqueline Sassard~jacquelinesassard]] and [[Performer~P78072~Michael York~michaelyork]] as the younger couple. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

  • Release date:May 23, 2014

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Joseph Losey Best British Film 1967 Nominee

Cast

Dirk Bogarde
as Stephen
Stanley Baker
as Charley
Michael York
as William
Vivien Merchant
as Rosalind
Harold Pinter
as Bell
Delphine Seyrig
as Francesca
Alexander Knox
as Provost
Ann Firbank
as Laura
Freddie Jones
as Frantic Man in Bell's Office
Nicholas Mosley
as Hedges
Terence Rigby
as Plainclothes Policeman
Jane Hillary
as Receptionist

Crew

Joseph Losey
Director
Joseph Losey
Producer
Norman Priggen
Producer
Harold Pinter
Screenwriter
Nicholas Mosley
Book Author
Gerry Fisher
Cinematographer
Johnny Dankworth
Composer (Music Score)
Reginald Beck
Editor
Carmen Dillon
Art Director
Beatrice Dawson
Costume Designer
Advertisement