Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Absence of Malice Details


In this legal drama from director Sydney Pollack, Sally Field stars as Megan, an ambitious newpaper reporter who, based on information from FBI investigator Rosen, played by Bob Balaban, writes a scathing article that implicates Gallagher, a reclusive business-owner played by Paul Newman, in the recent disappearance of a labor leader. When Gallagher confronts Megan and sets her straight, the two team together to prove his innocence and have a few romantic interludes along the way. Wilford Brimley and Melinda Dillon also star. ~ Matthew Tobey, Rovi

  • Release date:December 18, 1982


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Kurt Luedtke Best Screenplay 1981 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Kurt Luedtke Best Original Screenplay 1981 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Paul Newman Best Actor 1981 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Sally Field Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1981 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Melinda Dillon Best Supporting Actress 1981 Nominee


Paul Newman
as Michael Gallagher
Sally Field
as Megan Carter
Bob Balaban
as Rosen
Melinda Dillon
as Teresa
Luther Adler
as Malderone
Barry Primus
as Waddell
Josef Sommer
as McAdam
John Harkins
as Davidek
Don Hood
as Quinn
Wilford Brimley
as Wells
Ilse Earl
as Nun
Lynn Stalmaster
Ted Bartsch
as Beverage Manager
Barry Hober
as News Staff
Diane Zolten
as Reporter
John Archie
as FBI Agent
Lee Sandman
as News Staff
Jeff Gillen
as 3rd Reporter
Shelley Spurlock
as Sarah Wylie
Timothy Hawkins
as FBI Agent
Rooney Kerwin
as Walker
Arnie Ross
as Eddie Frost
Oswaldo Calvo
as John
John DiSanti
as Longshoreman
Shawn McAllister
as Mobster
Alfredo Alvarez Calderon
as Rodriquez
Bill Hindman
as Priest
Jack McDermott
as News Staff
Jodie Wilson
as Ragged Lady
Joe Petrullo
as Mobster


Sydney Pollack
Sydney Pollack
Terence Marsh
Kurt Luedtke
Owen Roizman
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
Sheldon Kahn
Terence Marsh
Production Designer
Ronald L. Schwary
Executive Producer
Bernie Pollack
Costume Designer
Bert Hallberg
Sound/Sound Designer
David McGiffert
First Assistant Director
James Glennon
Camera Operator
Ronald L. Schwary
Production Manager