Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

42 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P93948~Brian Helgeland~brianhelgeland]]'s historical sports drama/biopic 42 relates the historic 1947 baseball season in which Brooklyn Dodgers general manager Branch Rickey ([[Performer~P24238~Harrison Ford~harrisonford]]) decides to sign the first black Major League player, [[Performer~P60791~Jackie Robinson~jackierobinson]] ([[Performer~P669837~Chadwick Boseman~chadwickboseman]]). Although Robinson faces ugly, vicious racism from other clubs, fans, and on occasion his own teammates, Rickey encourages him to not fight back. By following that advice, Robinson allows his remarkable athletic talent to speak for itself, and soon the first-year player becomes one the most popular players on the team, eventually securing the Rookie of the Year award. [[Performer~P200468~Christopher Meloni~christophermeloni]] and [[Performer~P350587~Hamish Linklater~hamishlinklater]] co-star. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:April 12, 2013

Cast

Chadwick Boseman
as Jackie Robinson
Harrison Ford
as Branch Rickey
Nicole Beharie
as Rachel Robinson
Christopher Meloni
as Leo Durocher
Ryan Merriman
as Dixie Walker
Lucas Black
as Pee Wee Reese
Andre Holland
as Wendell Smith
Alan Tudyk
as Ben Chapman
Hamish Linklater
as Ralph Branca
John C. McGinley
as Red Barber
Toby Huss
as Clyde Sukeforth
Max Gail
as Burt Shotton
Brad Beyer
as Kirby Higbe
James Pickens, Jr.
as Mr. Brock
Gino Anthony Pesi
as Joe Garagiola
Brett Cullen
as Clay Hopper
Cherise Boothe
as Ed's Mother
Matt Clark
as Luther
Peter MacKenzie
as Happy Chandler
Joe Inscoe
as Bob Cooke
Monnae Michaell
as Mallie
Karole Foreman
as Duff Harris
Lou Criscuolo
as Reporter One
Mark Harelik
as Herb Pennock
Rhoda Griffis
as Miss Bishop
Jon Kohler
as Spectator Two
Marc Gowan
as Doctor
Jackson Walker
as Jimmy Powers
Danny Vinson
as Eddie Dyer
William Flaman
as Cracker
Peter Jurasik
as Hotel Manager
Dax Griffin
as Racist City Island Fan
Jud Tylor
as Laraine Day
Todd Wilson
as Reporter Four

Crew

Brian Helgeland
Director
Thomas Tull
Producer
Brian Helgeland
Screenwriter
Don Burgess
Cinematographer
Mark Isham
Composer (Music Score)
Margaret Yen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Peter Afterman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Kevin Stitt
Editor
Peter McNulty
Editor
Richard Hoover
Production Designer
Dennis Bradford
Art Director
Charles McCarry
Art Director
Aaron Haye
Supervising Art Director
Eric Heffron
Co-producer
Allan Graf
Executive Producer
Jason Clark
Executive Producer
Jon Jashni
Executive Producer
Caroline Harris
Costume Designer
Cindy Carr
Set Decorator
Eric Heffron
First Assistant Director
Victoria Thomas
Casting
Mark Kamine
Unit Production Manager
Yann Delpuech
Sound Effects Editor
Shaughnessy Hare
Sound Effects Editor
Jeffrey J. Haboush
Re-Recording Mixer
Brad Wilder
Department Head Makeup
Jeff Wexler
Production Sound Mixer
Michelle Eisenreich
Visual Effects Producer
Craig Comstock
Second Assistant Director
Coni Andress
Hair Designer
Noelle Green
Production Supervisor
Jamie Dixon
Visual Effects Supervisor
Daniel Chuba
Visual Effects Executive Producer
Chris Carpenter
Re-Recording Mixer
Paula Stier
Production Coordinator
Bill Corso
Makeup Designer
Lori J. Nelson
Visual Effects Producer
Jason Clark
Unit Production Manager
Advertisement