Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

2012 Details


Disaster movie maven Roland Emmerich (Roland Emmerich, Roland Emmerich) crafts this apocalyptic sci-fi thriller following the prophecy stated by the ancient Mayan calendar, which says that the world will come to an end on December 21, 2012. When a global cataclysm thrusts the world into chaos, divorced writer and father Jackson Curtis (John Cusack) joins the race to ensure that humankind is not completely wiped out. Chiwetel Ejiofor, Danny Glover, Amanda Peet, Thandie Newton, and Oliver Platt round out the cast of this end-of-the-world thriller co-scripted by the director and his Oliver Platt writer/composer, Harald Kloser. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 13, 2009


John Cusack
as Jackson Curtis
Amanda Peet
as Kate Curtis
Chiwetel Ejiofor
as Adrian Helmsley
Thandie Newton
as Laura Wilson
Oliver Platt
as Carl Anheuser
Tom McCarthy
as Gordon
Woody Harrelson
as Charlie Frost
Danny Glover
as President Wilson
Liam James
as Noah Curtis
Morgan Lily
as Lilly Curtis
Zlatko Burik
as Yuri Karpov
Beatrice Rosen
as Tamara
Alexandre Haussmann
as Alec
Philippe Haussmann
as Oleg
Johann Urb
as Sasha
John Billingsley
as Professor West
Chin Han
as Lin Pang
Osric Chau
as Nima
Chang Tseng
as Grandfather Sonam
Lisa Lu
as Grandmother Sonam
Blu Mankuma
as Harry Helmsley
George Segal
as Tony Delgado
Stephen McHattie
as Captain Michaels
Patrick Bauchau
as Roland Picard
Jimi Mistry
as Dr. Satnam Tsurutani
Ryan McDonald
as Scotty
Merrilyn Gann
as German Chancellor
Henry O
as Lama Rinpoche
Patrick Gilmore
as Ark Communications Officer
Dean Marshall
as Ark Communications Officer
Ronald Selmour
as Ark Boarding Officer
Viv Leacock
as Ark Boarding Officer
Chris Boyd
as Ark Boarding Officer
Donna Yamamoto
as Ark Science Officer
Doron Bell Jr.
as Ark Science Officer
David Orth
as AF1 Lieutenant
Lyndall Grant
as Governor
Jason Diablo
as Ark Tech Officer
Ty Olsson
as AF1 Officer
Zinaid Memisevic
as President Sergey Makarenko
Igor Morozov
as Russian Interpreter
B.J. Harrison
as Woman Comforting Child
Dominic Zamprogna
as Paramedic
Karin Konoval
as Sally - President's Secretary
Mary Gillis
as Jackson's Neighbor
Rick Tae
as Megaphone Officer
Parm Soor
as Saudi Prince
Gerard Plunkett
as Isaacs - MI6 Officer
Paul Tryl
as Zultan
Andrei Kovski
as Zultan's Trainer
Val Cole
as News Reporter - Tikal
Eve Harlow
as Cashier
Sean Tyson
as Interrogating Officer
Leonard Tenisci
as Italian Prime Minister
Michael Buffer
as Boxing Announcer
Daren Herbert
as Ship Waiter
Craig Stanghetta
as Vegas Rescue Worker
Mateen Devji
as Ajit - age 5
Qayam Devji
as Ajit - age 9
Jody Thompson
as CNN Anchor
Tanya Champoux
as Mrs. Birnbaum
Frank C. Turner
as Preacher
Kinua McWatt
as Yoko Delgatto
Laara Sadiq
as British Newscaster
Gillian Barber
as Curise Ship Lady
Candus Churchill
as Curise Ship Lady
Beverley Elliott
as Curise Ship Lady
Agam Darshi
as Aparna
Raj Lal
as Gurdeep
Pesi Daruwalla
as Dr. Lokesh
Jacob Blair
as AF1 Steward
Jay Williams
as AF1 Steward
Anna Mae Routledge
as Ark Naval Officer
John Stewart
as Pilot
Brandon Haas
as Surfer
Eddie Hassell
as Surfer
Betty Phillips
as Elderly Driver
Georgina Hegedos
as Elderly Driver
Luis Javier
as Vegas Tow Truck Driver
Dean Redman
as Vegas Fireman
Gordon Lai
as Security Commander
Leo Chiang
as Chinese Soldier
Elizabeth Richard
as Queen Elizabeth
Mark Docherty
as Field Reporter - Tikal
Mark Oliver
as Fundraiser Security
Kyle Riefsnyder
as Cho Ming Platform Officer
John Mee
as Angry Billionaire
Andrew Moxham
as Policeman
Alexandra Castillo
as Paris Reporter
George Trochta
as American Ark Steward
Shaun Wilson
as US Army Worker
Leigh Burrows
as US Army Worker
Chad Riley
as Ark Bridge Crew
Alex Zahara
as Ark Bridge Crew
Geoff Gustafson
as Ark Bridge Crew
Quentin Guyon
as Ark Bridge Crew
Jill Morrison
as Ark Bridge Crew
Jase-Anthony Griffith
as Ark Bridge Crew
Kevin Haaland
as Ark Bridge Crew
Leona Naidoo
as Ark Bridge Crew
Nicole Rudell
as Ark Bridge Crew


Roland Emmerich
Mark Gordon
Harald Kloser
Larry Franco
Harald Kloser
Roland Emmerich
Dean Semler
Harald Kloser
Composer (Music Score)
Thomas Wander
Composer (Music Score)
David Brenner
Peter S. Elliott
Barry Chusid
Production Designer
Don MacAulay
Supervising Art Director
Dan Hermansen
Art Director
Kendelle Elliott
Art Director
Ross Dempster
Art Director
Marc Weigert
Aaron Boyd
Volker Engel
Kirstin Winkler
Associate Producer
Roland Emmerich
Executive Producer
Ute Emmerich
Executive Producer
Michael Wimer
Executive Producer
Nancy Brown
Set Designer
Jay Mitchell
Set Designer
Douglas A. Girling
Set Designer
David Clarke
Set Designer
John Burke
Set Designer
Peter Stratford
Set Designer
Peter Ochotta
Set Designer
Elizabeth Wilcox
Set Decorator
Shay Cunliffe
Costume Designer
Paul N.J. Ottosson
Sound/Sound Designer
Tommy Gormley
First Assistant Director
April Webster
Mike Vezina
Special Effects Supervisor
David K. Arnold
Second Assistant Director
Pete Romano
Underwater Photography
Josh R. Jaggars
Visual Effects Producer
Wayne McLaughlin
Properties Master
Kimi Webber
Script Supervisor
Michael Malone
Unit Production Manager
Paul N.J. Ottosson
Supervising Sound Editor
Sanna Seppanen
Department Head Hair
Thomas Nellen
Department Head Makeup
John Stoneham Jr.
Stunts Coordinator
Connie Parker
Department Head Makeup
Cameron Waldbauer
Special Effects Coordinator
Gitte Axen
Taylor Roberts