Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

12 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

When a Russian youth is put on trial for the murder of his adoptive father, it's up to a room full of jurors divided by racism and prejudice to determine the boy's ultimate fate in director [[Performer~P102780~Nikita Mikhalkov~nikitamikhalkov]]'s loose remake of [[Performer~P108874~Reginald Rose~reginaldrose]]'s 12 Angry Men. At the center of the storm is a broodingly silent foreman ([[Performer~P102780~Mikhalkov~nikitamikhalkov]]). As the deliberation grows increasingly tense, a racist Russian cabbie ([[Performer~P138486~Sergei Garmash~sergeigarmash]]) attempts to sway the vote of a well-dressed television producer ([[Performer~P255866~Yuri Stoyanov~yuristroganov]]) by staging a vivid recreation of a gruesome murder scene; an elderly Jewish man ([[Performer~P138286~Valentin Gaft~valentingaft]]) recovers the nightmares of the Holocaust; and a Caucasus surgeon ([[Performer~P26252~Sergei Gazarov~sergeigazarov]]) is pushed over the edge by a hateful rant about the brutishness of Chechens. Later, after one soft-spoken juror ([[Performer~P196884~Sergei Makovetsky~sergeimakovetsky]]) wins the jury over with a heartfelt monologue about intemperance and redemption, the volatile group struggles to settle on a final verdict. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:March 4, 2009
Advertisement

Other movies like this