Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

10 Things I Hate About You Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

As Shakespearean adaptations go, it's not quite as odd as moving The Tempest to another planet (as in [[Feature~V18166~Forbidden Planet~forbiddenplanet]]) or Hamlet to a Canadian brewery (the secret subtext of [[Feature~V47177~Strange Brew~strangebrew]]), but it's still safe to say no one was expecting a version of The Taming of the Shrew set in an American high school. But unlike the previously mentioned films, 10 Things I Hate About You at least gives the Bard screen credit for his contribution to the story. In 10 Things I Hate About You, Bianca Stratford ([[Performer~P199203~Larisa Oleynik~larisaoleynik]]) is a tenth grader who has never gone on a date, as her parents have a little rule where Bianca isn't allowed to go out with boys until her older sister gets a boyfriend. The problem is, while her older sister Kat ([[Performer~P230869~Julia Stiles~juliastiles]]) is attractive and intelligent, she's also a mean-spirited misanthrope who rubs nearly everyone the wrong way -- especially boys. But Bianca and the guy she has her eye on, Joey Donner ([[Performer~P196500~Andrew Keegan~andrewkeegan]]), are eager to get their romance on the road, so Joey fixes Kat up with Patrick Verona ([[Performer~P268296~Heath Ledger~heathledger]]), a new kid in town who may be just bitter and mysterious enough to suit her. 10 Things I Hate About You is the first feature film for director [[Performer~P263617~Gil Junger~giljunger]], who previously worked extensively in television, including episodes of [[Feature~V160193~Dharma and Greg~avriothaxeroume]], [[Feature~V159974~Ellen~ellenfoster]], and [[Feature~V154681~Blossom~blossomtime]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 31, 1999

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Chicago Film Critics Association Julia Stiles Most Promising Actress 1999 Winner

Cast

Heath Ledger
as Patrick Verona
Julia Stiles
as Katarina Stratford
Joseph Gordon-Levitt
as Cameron James
Larisa Oleynik
as Bianca Stratford
David Krumholtz
as Michael Eckman
Andrew Keegan
as Joey Donner
Susan May Pratt
as Mandella
Gabrielle Union
as Chastity
Larry Miller
as Walter Stratford
Daryl Mitchell
as Mr. Morgan
Allison Janney
as Ms.Perky
David Leisure
as Mr. Chapin
Kyle Cease
as Bogey Lowenstein

Crew

Gil Junger
Director
Andrew Lazar
Producer
Kirsten Smith
Screenwriter
Karen McCullah Lutz
Screenwriter
Mark Irwin
Cinematographer
Gilbert Wong
Art Director
Greg Silverman
Associate Producer
Seth Jaret
Executive Producer
Jeffrey Chernov
Executive Producer
Kimberly A. Tillman
Costume Designer
Bayard Carey
Sound/Sound Designer
K.C. Colwell
First Assistant Director
Donna Morong
Casting
Gail Goldberg
Casting
Marcia Ross
Casting
Ralph Sall
Executive Music Producer
Advertisement